Follow Home Carers Direct on Facebook

View Job


Female live in carer required

No. of Applicants: 0 - Be the FIRST TO APPLY!
Pay: £ Negotiable
Applications Close: 31st December 2022 


Job Specifics

Posted On: 23rd April 2022
Location: Ashford, Kent
Job Starts: 23rd April 2022
Duration: Permanent ongoing
Employer: Trish


Requirements

- Companionship

- Help around the Home

- Live-In Care

- Meal Preparation

- Personal Hygiene Care


About the Client

Clients Name: Tommie

Food they like: Veggie curry’s, stews, soups, rice, quinoa, fish, roast dinnners, roast beef, ham, organic free range eggs, fruit, desserts,

Music: Irish, country, 50, 60, 70s,

TV: adventure, bear grills, travel programs ,documentaries, sport, football, olympics, horse racing, quiz shows, music,

Films: Action, feel good

Books: Clive cussler

Days Out: Walks in nature, parks, woods, beach, meals out

Other Interests: Crossword, listening music


Details:

I need a carer for my father, he is 76 and has Parkinson’s disease. He needs help with showering and personal care, with dressing, to add cream to help prevent pressure sores, to walk with with him as he uses his 4 wheeled walker & sits down safely; making him a light breakfast and lunch and a cooked dinner and to purée the food with a hand blender after made.

To sit with him when eating and drinking as has dysphagia, to promp and encourage use of techniques when needed (I can teach; such as ‘slow down’ tongue around teeth, little breaks to minimise potential risk of coughing) we have timed alarm tablet box for ease for giving tablets, but tend to give tablets on spoon with water although can take himself.

To take out for walks; he pushes his wheelchair to keep upright & balance himself and when tires or ‘freezes’ or unable, will need help to sit back down in wheelchair and be pushed in the chair rest of way( he is very light and small& so is chair)

To help him if he needs a bowel movement, to walk with him to the toilet and come back to clean him& add cream.

To assist him with speech therapy practice for 20 minutes five days a week, he reads out phrases or repeats what you say from a book or song words, (to strengthen voice& swallow) and to do a crossword twice a week with him.

we need someone who is happy to cook dinners, can even make enough for a couple of days so not need to cook everyday if its a meal cooked from scratch& takes longer for example, a vegetable stew, vegetable curry and to wash up and do general housework.

My father is a lovely, gentle& quiet man, he has a very soft voice and can be hard to hear and communicate with sometimes, and uses a speech card, due to Parkinson’s,

He enjoys listening to& watching dvds of music- Irish, country, 50s to 70s, singing, watching sport football, olympics etc, films, travel programmes, documentaries, playing games.

I’m looking for a kind, patient, empathetic, caring person who is a good all rounder and happy to help and assist my father to make sure he is safe due to mobility issues and Parkinson’s.

Many thanks, any questions please ask and we look forward to hearing from you.


Apply Now

You're not logged in!

Login above or register below to see full details of this Job

Register Now for Free

Instructions

Please enter a valid email address as this will need to be verified in order to register.


Register for Free


Our Members Say...

Success Story

"I am now working for 2 wonderful clients, Betty and David who found me through Home Carers Direct. I will have more availability in 6 months if anyone is seeking a carer for then. This site has been..."

- Rachael L -

Read more Success Stories...